Standard

Yesterday

Y is for Yesterday

I am behind with the A to Z Challenge, due partly to the lack of internet from Wednesday pm to Friday evening, and then a busy weekend, but it has given me a chance to write about yesterday. I was going to do about Yummy Yorkshire Ice cream, but events that happened need to be talked about, just take it from me the ice-cream is very very yummy!

Yesterday was a day of two halves

My eldest AJ was taking part in her first regional gymnastics competition and grading, she needed to pass the grading in order for her to move on to the next grade next year. I was (as I always am) very nervous for her, I had seen her do some of the disciplines and was unsure how well she would do, but as soon as she started on her first discipline Bars I realised I had nothing to worry about. She passed her grade 14 with distinction and when we looked at her marks she had completed her Bars routine almost faultlessly. I am a very proud mummy (or mum to AJ), and hope that this has renewed her passion for gymnastics as she has certainly got a flare for it.

The downside of the day was having to put our kitten, Willow, that we had only had a week to sleep. She had become ill towards the end of the week, and was gradually getting weaker, not wanting to eat and only sleeping. I had already taken her to the vets on Sunday morning, but had to take her back Sunday late on, as she was rapidly going downhill. The vet warned me that she was not in a good way, and she wasn’t sure if she would make it, at 8.00 yesterday evening she rang to say she was really struggling and she didn’t think she would make it through the  night and felt that it would be fairer to put her to sleep. Through tears me & NJ agreed, it was the right thing to do, but even though we had only had her a week she was already so much part of the family.

So yesterday was a day of sadness either side of the joy of seeing my daugter perform so well in her competion. What was your yesterday like?

I hope you enjoyed reading this post, I would love to know what you thought.

