Being Open

Being Open

O is for Open

I’ve always been one of those people who keeps things to her self, I thought it was better and easier that way. Unfortunately it isn’t as I found out when I went hurtling into a Crisis situation after the birth of TJ, I was so used to managing and not talking that I didn’t cope very well when things became too much. I’m not going to say anymore here, but if you want to know about my PND and my story, please read the rest of my blog because the A to Z challenge for me is about being positive.

After being so ill and having to talk so much to health professionals I realised that talking and sharing is actually really good, there are so many people out there who have also struggled with life that no one should ever be alone.

I now know that being open and talking to others can help in your recovery, but also at the same time help others with theirs. I have joined various forums, blog communities and found like-minded people on Twitter that have been a great source of help and support when things have been difficult.

If you are struggling with PND / PPD then please seek help, talk to people whether in the real world or online. Just remember to be open about how you feel and what you need to help you get though a difficult time in your life.

6 thoughts on “Being Open

  1. Thanks for posting on Zane’s blog.
    I’ve not really struggled with PPD, but have certainly had other hardships in life. I agree, it does help to discuss things with people who understand.
    I’m going to go back and read your previous posts and check out your blog.
    Nice to meet you.

  2. Hello, Mrs. Shortie! I’m glad you were able to open up and help yourself and help others in recovering. Wishing you good health and happiness!

    Have a lovely week and happy A to Z!

  3. Completely agree with your post, being open is for the best. Nothing to be ashamed of and actually sometimes I feel quite proud that I can stand up and say “this is who I am”.
    Well done you

  4. I think this is great counsel for many situations in life. Those of us who are the “strong, silent type” suffer unnecessarily sometimes by not opening up more.

I hope you enjoyed reading this post, I would love to know what you thought.

