Standard

Mummy

Apologies that this is a day late for the A-Z Challenge, life got in the way yesterday and I’ve only just had chance to finish this.!

M for Mummy

As a new mum the thing you want to hear most is ‘mummy’ from your little one, you want them to know who you are and to say your name. AJ and FJ both said Daddy first and I was gutted, I wanted them to say mummy, strangely though, I can’t remember when they did start saying mummy. TJ, on the other hand, did say mummy first, and it was one of her first words, and for quite some time it was the word she used if she didn’t know what something was!¬†Hearing ‘mummy, mummy, mummy’ every five minutes soon became quite tiresome and I longed for her to say something else, although she does sound very cute when she does say mummy!

A year ago I wrote a post about what being a mummy means to me, and as I think it says everything I want to say here it is again:

Being a mum or a mummy has changed me in ways I never thought would happen, my children have become my life, I stopped wanting a ‘career’ and was happy with a ‘job’. Everything I do revolves around them, from thinking about what food we need for everyone’s likes and dislikes to making sure I get up on time in the morning to get everyone dressed, breakfast and out of the house in time for school.

I no longer go out partying, although in the early days after AJ was born I still did, but after the arrival of FJ and most recently TJ I can’t remember the last time I went out with the other half and forgot about being a mummy. Being a mummy for me is all-consuming and now that I have been lucky enough (for now) to be a SAHM I can enjoy all the smiles and laughter of all 3 of my brilliant children. I have been blessed (most of the time!) with 3 very happy children who are caring and love life, they enjoy spending time with us (the parents) and I hope that as they get older they will continue to enjoy are company.

Being a mummy for me is about helping those little people travel through life, helping them learn, picking them up when they fall down, but most importantly letting them know that they are the most important people in my life.

What does being a mummy (or daddy) mean to you?

One thought on “Mummy

I hope you enjoyed reading this post, I would love to know what you thought.

