Standard

Love

L is for Love

What is the first thing you think of when you hear the word love? I am so predictable and always think of flowers and hearts, the romantic side of love, but there are different types of love and they do not all involve hearts and flowers.

The love you feel for your child is all-consuming, no matter what they do you will always love them, its unconditional, its full of hugs and cuddles, and I guess some hearts and flowers and maybe even chocolates (if daddy is feeling generous!).

The love you feel for your parents and siblings is again unconditional, you are bound by blood and even if at times you do not like them they are still your family and if others try to bad mouth them you will step in and fight their corner. Some people have very strong bonds with their immediate family, I, unfortunately do not so can only comment from my own experience.

The love you feel for close friends is one that will have developed slowly, I have 4 close friends, 3 of which live close by and I find it strange when I am not in contact with them, and worry for them when things are difficult and I enjoy spending time with them. The 4th friend I have known longer than NJ, and even though we are rubbish with keeping in touch we always manage to pick up where we left off when we meet up.

The love you feel for a pet can sometimes be the same as for a child, you worry about them, and want the best for them, but whilst you may get to cuddle some pets it’s not the same as your own flesh and blood. (Note that this knowledge may change in a few months when I have had the kittens for a while)

Some people love pop stars and other famous people, and are devastated if a group splits up, but as I have not had that infatuation I am not best place to comment on it, I did have a crush on a couple of actors, but that’s as far as it went.

Your first love is one that most people will never forget, but even though at the time you will disagree it is not the same love as ‘the one’, for most it is an innocent love, that gives you butterfly’s in your stomach and you feel wonderful that someone else feels the same way about you.

I think many pf us will have fallen in love a few times with a partner, but for me whilst it was good, it was never complete until I met NJ, it’s often hard to describe, but it all just felt right, we were just like 2 jigsaw pieces that needed to be together. I knew I was fully in love and had found the one I wanted to be with when I decoded I wasn’t bothered about a career, but wanted to get married and have children. This is the love that is full of hearts and flowers, but also full of apologies when things are done wrong, and forgiveness.

What does Love mean to you? Have you found ‘the one’ or are you still looking?

Image: Salvatore Vuono / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

2 thoughts on “Love

  1. Love is sort of a touchy subject for me. Sure, I love my kids with my whole heart, more than I could possibly express. I’ve been married to their mom for 20+ years now… was/is she “the one”? Nope. Probably will have to wait until the Great Beyond to find “the one”, but that’s a sacrifice I’m willing to make, so that my kids can have what I didn’t… a dad that stayed with them.

    Dave

  2. I have found the one….everything else pales into insignificance. I’m still in touch with my 1st I dint think you’ll ever forget the first time someone makes you feel special, but I now know he wasn’t ‘the one’

I hope you enjoyed reading this post, I would love to know what you thought.

