Now to 2012

Now to 2012

Why not write a blog post about what you are going to proactively change in 2012 and link up below?  Or just tell us all about you and why you want to join #groovingmums or already have done so.

Having looked back at 2011, I think it is only right to look forward to 2012 and to what I hope to achieve or happen.

The main thing I want to achieve is to carry on getting better and getting stronger in an emotional sense. Things over the last few weeks have been good, but as the children go back to school and NJ goes off to work life will become structured which means there is more stress on daily life. Which in turn could mean I find things difficult again, however I will look to 2012 to be positive about life and see things as a cup half full, rather than a cup half empty.

The second place I want to improve is my house, I want to finish de-cluttering, so that we have storage space for things we actually want to keep, rather than keeping things that have been in the same boxes for 5 years since we move into the house! I also want to try my best to keep my house tidy, I am much calmer when the house is tidy and in turn it appears that the children are calmer too.

Finally I want to carry on trying to find my groove with Grooving Mums, Kate on Thin Ice is the driving force behind this all-inclusive club and if you want to know more take a look here.

I will be continuing with my Skills course for the next 6 weeks, which I think has actually really helped me. Unfortunately I’m not sure what will happen at the end, and how I will feel, but its a good start in the right direction.

I have started thinking about what I want to do career wise once TJ starts school (not for another 2.5 years, but if I want to re-train I need to start thinking about it now), I’m not completely sure yet, so I’m not going to write about it, but it is part of getting my groove back to do something for me.

Writing my blog is one thing that is truly just for me, I have always enjoyed writing and I am going to make a real effort to blog more often and make the time to read other blogs too. I am learning not to feel guilty for having ‘me’ time and that it is actually good for all concerned if I do have proper ‘me’ time. I hope this year with my blog I can write about different topics, but also promote PND (not sure promote is the right word there!!) and help reduce the stigma that many women attach to it and others attach to depression as a whole.

I hope to get more involved with The Joanne Bingley Memorial Foundation, I talked with one of the trustees in November / December about being part of the fundraising team, I hope that is still possible. I also want to help in other ways if that is possible with spreading the word and doing anything that would help the cause.

Finally I want to enjoy this year, I want to make time to have fun with the children and NJ, I want to remember to make time for NJ, and to also  make time for friends. Without my friends and many of my family I don’t think I would have made it through the last 12 months, but it is only now that I can appreciate what a help and support everyone has been to me.

I think there are many ways there that are working towards getting my groove back, it is however very easy to write these things down, it’s not always as easy to carry these things out. So over the weeks and months I hope that being a part of Grooving Mums will help me keep focused.

8 thoughts on “Now to 2012

  1. Thanks for joining in and linking up. It is a struggle to be groovy in the midst of all the things we have to juggle but hoping you know myself and others are here for you. You have a good plan and I look forward to seeing how it goes. We know there will be blips, we all have them but that is part of life and us #groovingmums can stick together thru it all. Sending all good wishes for 2012.

  2. Great post. Clearing out the clutter, whether mentally, physically, geographically, or whatever, can only be good. Good luck. See you over at Kate’s page I’m sure. Polly

I hope you enjoyed reading this post, I would love to know what you thought.

