Just when it seemed to be calming down

Just when it seemed to be calming down

Anyone who has suffered with anxiety I am sure will be able to empathise when I say that it has felt REALLY good over the last few days when I seemed to be anxiety free. I could do things and speak to people, even health professional, without having an anxiety attack. I didn’t have the shaky hands, the pumping heart or the slightly fuzzy feeling in my head. I believed I was rapidly getting better, (having had an increase in my medication) that things were calming down and I was going to be able to deal with things without ‘anxiety’ getting in the way.

That was until this morning when I took FJ to bendy kids. When we arrived (late as always!) one of AJ’s old gymnastic coaches was there and for some reason it set me off! AJ didn’t leave the gym on a bad note, it was all very civilised, so there was no reason for me to be worried or anxious about seeing her. My body had other ideas, with shaky hands and pumping heart I went back to the car, feeling all worried for no apparent reason!

I also had in the car a letter from the psychological services still to open, so this may have increased my anxiety aswell. The letter was about my referral to them, I have to send a confirmation form back and then I will get an assessment and they will decide if they think I am in need of help or not (can’t wait for that assessment!!).

So I am now back home, FJ is off at pre-school and I have a visit due this afternoon from my CPN, I am still all anxious and jittery. With the feeling of not knowing what to do, I will of course tell my CPN how I feel, not that she can take the anxiety away (wouldn’t that be great!), but she may be able to help me reassess and calm down slightly.

If anyone has any great miracle ways of preventing or stopping anxiety please let me know.

3 thoughts on “Just when it seemed to be calming down

  1. Sorry I don’t but if I ever do I’ll let you know! Had a near panic attack myself walking to the bus stop today. I’m always so anxious I’m going to miss the bus, even though I’m really early! Just as well though as the bus was 3 mins early itself! Stupid irregular public transport… Grr.

  2. What I can help with is how to manage an actual panic attack. When I suffered from them 15 years ago my doctor told me to breath deeply through my mouth to 12 counts so breath in 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12 and then breath out 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12. This makes you slow your breathing down in order to actually calm down a bit. I think it does work if you can manage to make yourself count it out. (Make sure you don’t go dizzy tho!)

    Quite a practical thing but anxiety is such a weird thing and different for everyone that it’s hard to know what to do.x

I hope you enjoyed reading this post, I would love to know what you thought.

