What being a mum means to me

What being a mum means to me

Being spurred on by the lauch of the Maternity Matters Blog Maternity Matters and the meme by Natasha (The Life and Times of a domestic anarchist) I have decided to join in and write a quick blog on what being a mum means to me:

Being a mum or a mummy has changed me in ways I never thought would happen, my children have become my life, I stopped wanting a ‘career’ and was happy with a ‘job’. Everything I do revolves around them, from thinking about what food we need for everyone’s likes and dislikes to making sure I get up on time in the morning to get everyone dressed, breakfast and out of the house in time for school.

I no longer go out partying, although in the early days after AJ was born I still did, but after the arrival of FJ and most recently TJ I can’t remember the last time I went out with the other half and forgot about being a mummy. Being a mummy for me is all-consuming and now that I have been lucky enough (for now) to be a SAHM I can enjoy all the smiles and laughter of all 3 of my brilliant children. I have been blessed (most of the time!) with 3 very happy children who are caring and love life, they enjoy spending time with us (the parents) and I hope that as they get older they will continue to enjoy are company.

Being a mummy for me is about helping those little people travel through life, helping them learn, picking them up when they fall down, but most importantly letting them know that they are the most important people in my life.

9 thoughts on “What being a mum means to me

  1. Well said. I hope my daughter always knows she is the most important person in my life and that I will love her unconditionally. My family are quite lax at saying we love each other and I am determined not to be that way with her.

  2. Maternity matters is a such a good thing to link up with.
    A very nice post – something to show your children in future – you are a very dedicated mummy – well done you

I hope you enjoyed reading this post, I would love to know what you thought.

